There are three main laws relating to pollution.

(i) The Air (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act-1981.
(ii) The Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act-1974.
(iii) The Environment (Protection) Act-1986.

There are about fifteen rules under these Acts relating to different matters. Main rules under these Acts are given under Heading gActsh in this programme.

These Acts provides Central & State Boards for the prevention and control of pollution for air and water. The Environment Protection Act empowered Central Govt. to protect and improve environment.

These Acts prohibits industries to spread pollution. The industries are bound to discharged any pollutant within standards prescribed for those pollutants. They also carry many precautionary regulations for safety against pollution.

The industries has to take no objection certificates from Pollution Board (normally State Board). The refusal and withdrawal of these gNo Objection Certificatesh by Pollution Boards can even lead to close of industry.

The process of obtaining No Objection Certificates are made quite simple these days. Acknowledgement of Application for No Objection Certificates by Pollution Board is considered as No Objection Certificate for most of the Small Scale Industries. Now this certificate is issued for five years for most of non-polluting industries instead of one year.

Non implementation of the provisions of this act and rules made there under is punishable offence.